Gettysburg Replay

Day 2 demo.

Published by

Mr. Q

I semi-retired at 47. I suffered a sever brain injury at 25. I have written 3 books about living with brain injury and have had a regular column in the Brain Injury Alliance of MN's quarterly mag since 1999. I received my BA in English with honors in 2014. One of my avocations is developing simulation games. Weather permitting, I enjoy a round of Disc Golf whenever possible.

6 thoughts on “Gettysburg Replay”

  1. In Gettysburg, if cav is adjacent to inf and they choose to retreat, are they then spent?

    If cav or inf begin their turn adjacent to an enemy unit and on their turn they move away, are they spent?

    If you successfully roll for a jump move and then move your unit(s), do you leave your chit for that move in the cup but ignore/skip it if pulled next or later on?

    Happy Independence Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If a block chooses to retreat, it does not become spent. If it is forced to retreat through combat, it becomes spent.
      If you begin your turn adjacent to an enemy unit and move away, you do not become spent. The chit draw simulates simultaneous movement and command initiative. In a non-linear sense, sometimes moving last actually means moving first (anticipating enemy actions), other times it represents the enemy’s failure to obtain a decisive result, or it could mean that the defender was maneuvered out of their position. You are free to imagine whatever you will. My favorite interpretation is that the units in question weren’t even where they were shown on the map, so nothing happened!
      If you jump ahead, you take the chit out of the cup. You may only activate once a turn. As it clearly states in the rules, if you delay, you draw another chit before returning the delaying chit to the cup.


      1. Ok, I’m still a little fuzzy with the cav. Both sides have moved and a cav unit is adjacent to an inf unit. The inf moved last and wants to initiate combat vs the cav unit. If the cav unit declines combat and retreats, is it disrupted the same as if it were an inf unit…or, can cav voluntarily retreat without being disrupted?


  2. Here’s another question…
    If arty wish to bombard, do they do so immediately, or at the beginning of the combat phase?
    This can be important as successful bombardment could disrupt an enemy’s movement plans.

    Also, must artillery first designate which unit(s) they wish to bombard if more than one are in range?
    E.g. the Union has their four arty units in range of two CSA units. The Union pulls their AR chit and decides to bombard. Would the Union be able to attack each of the two CSA units in range? If they indicated they wanted to attack the first unit, and the bombardment caused it to retreat out of range, could the remaining Union arty then continue their bombardment onto the next unit in range?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If cav voluntarily retreats in the combat phase it becomes spent, even if before actual combat resolution. Moving out of contact in the movement phase does not cause a unit to become spent.

      Artillery bombards instead of moving, so at Gettysburg, Lee’s Corps artillery can fire before the Corps troops move. The Union can only pull this off if the Artillery chit is drawn first. The Union can concentrate more artillery in one bombardment than the South, but they are not very nimble with coordinating such vast resources.

      Each artillery unit fires when its chit is drawn. Multiple artillery blocks fire one at a time, and do not need to predesignate their targets.


      1. Bombardment is not Combat. Bombardment is resolved immediately in the Movement phase when activated. Only melee combat, including foot and mounted attacking artillery, is resolved in the combat phase.


Leave a Reply to Mr. Q Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s